Coronavirus (COVID-19) Health Alert

Temporary Office Closure

Due to COVID-19, the Two Wells Service Centre will be closed until further notice.

Council’s principal office at Mallala remains open however in light of the Prime Minister’s recommendation to stay at home and self-isolate as much as possible, and to only leave the house for essential reasons, we continue to encourage customers to consider alternatives to visiting Council’s offices to request a service:

telephone on 8527 0200
email at
website at

COVID-19 Information

If you are concerned about COVID-19 go to the South Australian Government website dedicated to COVID-19 for the latest medical advice and official reports by clicking here

For information relating to Adelaide Plains Council please visit

Dismiss alert

Citizen of the Year Awards

The Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards recognise and reward individuals and organisations who have made an outstanding contribution to the community during the current year, and/or given  exceptional service over a number of years to a local community, over and above normal employment duties.

Outstanding contribution and community service includes areas such as; education, health, fundraising, charitable and voluntary services, business, sport, arts, the environment, or any other area that contributes to the advancement and well-being of a community.

The 2019 Award winners are:

  • Citizen of the Year - Rae Corston
  • Community Event of the Year - Pinery Fire Memorial Grand Opening
  • Community Group of the Year - Two Wells Melodrama
  • Community Project of the Year - Pinery Fire Memorial and History of Grace Plains

The Awards are provided by the Australia Day Council of South Australia and administered by the Adelaide Plains Council. Nominations are reviewed and winners are selected by Council’s elected members at a general meeting of Council.

Nominations generally open each year on the 1st day of October and close on the 3rd Friday in November, however, nominations may be submitted throughout the year through the Australia Day Council website with those submissions going into the draw for that year. Nominations received after the closing date will be carried forward to the next nomination period in the following year.

Categories include:

  • Citizen(s) of the Year - the most outstanding Citizen(s) for the local government authority.
  • Young Citizen of the Year - the most outstanding Citizen (aged 30 years or less) for the local government authority.
  • Community Event of the Year - the person or group who has staged the most outstanding community event during the year.
  • Community Project of the Year - the project must be staged between 1 December and 30 November in the previous year (of the awards), be held entirely or predominantly in the Adelaide Plains Council area and be organised by or with the assistance of one or more community groups/members.

Please note, Community Group of the Year and Community Project of the Year are specific to the Adelaide Plains Council and nominations cannot be made for these two categories through the Australia Day Council. Nomination forms will be available on Council website from 1 October each year.

For further information please contact Council.